Best Bookmap Alternatives for Crypto Traders (2026)

TapeSurf is one of the tools compared here. Each section says where it is a weak fit.

Bookmap is a liquidity heatmap platform for futures and crypto. This page compares alternatives for four needs: altcoin coverage, a tool built for crypto venues, a lower price, and a heatmap that runs in the browser.

  • Altcoins on every exchange: TapeSurf. It lists every market on its 12 venues, with a heatmap for each.
  • Crypto order flow in the browser: TapeSurf. Bookmap Web covers 12 major coins.
  • Desktop footprint and heatmap with custom indicators: ATAS or Quantower.
  • Footprint charts first: Exocharts.
  • Futures first, crypto second: Sierra Chart.
  • Charts on the web and on phones: GoCharting.

Is Bookmap good for crypto?

Yes, Bookmap supports crypto exchanges. Its free Digital plan shows 1 symbol at a time, real-time crypto. Paid plans start at $49/month (Global), or $39/month billed yearly. Bookmap runs on Windows, macOS, Linux, browser.

Bookmap is a general platform for futures and crypto. A crypto-only trader can also look at the tools below, which are built for crypto venues or support them.

What are the best Bookmap alternatives for crypto?

The table compares the alternatives, with Bookmap in the last row. Prices are the vendor’s own, with the date we read them. TensorCharts is not in the table, because tensorcharts.com did not load when we checked. Our TensorCharts status check has the details.

Checked on October 23, 2026. Each cell links its source.
ToolRuns onCrypto dataFree planCustom indicatorsPrice
TapeSurfBrowser (WebGPU) Built in, real-time: Aster, Binance, Bitfinex, Bitstamp, Bybit, Coinbase, Deribit, HTX, Hyperliquid, Kraken, Lighter, OKX 16 major coins on up to 4 spot markets each (Binance, Bitfinex, Coinbase, Kraken), one market for every other coin, 1 layout, 2,500 bars of chart history, real-time data None yet $35/month (Pro), or $25/month billed yearlyMonthly or yearlyCrypto payment:Yes, USDC through Stripe
ATASWindows, macOS (ATAS X beta), browser (prototype) Built in, real-time: Binance, Bitfinex, Bitget, Bybit, Kraken, OKX, Phemex, Whitebit 1 exchange connection, 2 instruments at once, 3 indicators per chart, real-time crypto C# API €24.95/month (Plus), or €19.95/month billed yearly, plus VATMonthly, 3 months, yearly or lifetimeCrypto payment:No (card, PayPal or bank transfer)
ExochartsWindows, macOS, browser Built in, real-time: Binance, Binance US, BitMEX, Bybit On desktop, about 70 altcoin pairs on SHIB, DOGE and SOL. On the web, a 24-hour delay, or a few live pairs after sign-up Not stated $28/month (Web), or $49/month (Desktop Pro), plus VATMonthly, 3 or 6 monthsCrypto payment:No (card or PayPal)
QuantowerWindows (macOS through a virtual machine) Your own exchange account: Binance, Bybit, Deribit, Hyperliquid, OKX 1 connection; no cluster charts, volume profiles or VWAP C# API $70/month (All-in-One), 30% less billed yearlyMonthly, 3 or 6 months, yearly or lifetime; single features sold separatelyCrypto payment:Yes, through CoinPayments
Sierra ChartWindows (macOS and Linux through Wine) Built in, real-time: Binance, Bitfinex, BitMEX, Deribit; no order book for Binance 21-day trial only, with 10 days of intraday history ACSIL $26/month (Service Package 3)Monthly, or prepaid for 3 to 12 months; no lifetime optionCrypto payment:Yes, Bitcoin and other crypto (per its refund policy)
GoChartingBrowser, iOS, Android Built in, real-time: Binance, BitMEX, Bybit, Coinbase, Deribit 2 charts per tab, 1 device, real-time crypto Lipi $20/month (Crypto & Forex Premium)Monthly or yearlyCrypto payment:Yes, USDC through Stripe
BookmapWindows, macOS, Linux, browser Built in, real-time: Binance, Bitfinex and 20+ more exchanges 1 symbol at a time, real-time crypto Java and Python add-ons API $49/month (Global), or $39/month billed yearlyMonthly, yearly or lifetimeCrypto payment:No (card or PayPal)

1. TapeSurf: a heatmap for altcoins as well as BTC

Bookmap Web listed 12 coins when we checked. TapeSurf lists every market on its 12 venues, more than 1,200 crypto coins, and each market has a heatmap. Footprint is part of the TapeSurf chart, where Bookmap adds it through an add-on, and CVD, volume profile, open interest, funding and liquidations sit next to it. The order books of one coin on different venues merge into one book. Bookmap covers futures as well as crypto and takes custom add-ons. TapeSurf covers crypto only and has no indicator language. We make TapeSurf, and the TapeSurf vs Bookmap section lists where it falls short.

2. ATAS: the closest desktop match to Bookmap, for less

Like Bookmap, ATAS puts a heatmap next to footprint charts, and both are part of the ATAS app. Indicators are written in C#, where Bookmap add-ons use Java or Python. Plus costs €24.95/month plus VAT, against $49/month for Bookmap Global, and both sell a lifetime licence. The free START plan has real-time crypto data from eight exchanges, where Bookmap Digital is limited to one symbol. The trade-off is depth: the built-in crypto connector gives limited order book depth, and full depth needs a trading account connected through the exchange API. ATAS runs on Windows, and ATAS X (beta) adds macOS.

3. Exocharts: executed volume and tick history instead of resting orders

Exocharts reads the market from the other side of Bookmap: executed volume in footprint charts, not resting orders. Its site states no order book heatmap. The crypto feeds from Binance, Bybit and BitMEX keep up to six years of tick data, and a new pair shows up in less than 30 seconds, the site says. Desktop Pro runs on Windows and macOS and can add dxFeed for futures and stocks, and the web version is simpler. Web costs $28/month plus VAT. Like Bookmap, Exocharts takes no crypto payments. Choose it over Bookmap if you trade on footprint and want deep tick history.

4. Quantower: a heatmap on your own exchange account, with trading

Quantower offers a heatmap mode and cluster (footprint) charts, as Bookmap does, but it has no data feed of its own. The data comes from the exchange accounts you link: Binance, Bybit, OKX, Hyperliquid or Deribit. Orders go out from the same chart, and custom code is C#. Cluster charts, volume profiles and VWAP need a paid licence, per its licence comparison. All-in-One costs $70/month, more than Bookmap Global. Yearly billing is 30% less, and single features such as volume analysis are sold on their own. It runs on Windows only, so a Mac needs a virtual machine. Unlike Bookmap, it accepts crypto through CoinPayments.

5. Sierra Chart: a futures platform like Bookmap, with thin crypto depth

Sierra Chart and Bookmap both come from futures trading. Sierra Chart draws market depth history and footprint (Numbers Bars), and its studies use ACSIL. For crypto it falls behind Bookmap: Sierra Chart provides no depth for Binance symbols and no historical depth for any crypto symbol, while Bookmap takes a 5,000-level Binance snapshot. Its crypto data covers Binance, Bitfinex, BitMEX and Deribit at no extra cost. Service Package 3 costs $26/month, with no lifetime licence. It runs on Windows, or through Wine on macOS and Linux. Choose it over Bookmap if price matters and you do not trade on Binance.

6. GoCharting: a cheaper charting app for phones, without a heatmap

GoCharting has the lowest entry price on this page: Crypto & Forex Premium costs $20/month. It runs in the browser and as iOS and Android apps, while Bookmap runs on desktop and the web. What it gives up is the order book view: we found no order book heatmap in its terminal. It offers footprint charts, Market Profile and Lipi scripts instead, with order flow for Binance, Bybit, Coinbase, Deribit and BitMEX on the Crypto & Forex plan. The free plan has real-time crypto charts, two per tab. It accepts USDC through Stripe. Choose it if you trade from a phone and read footprint rather than resting orders.

Bookmap alternatives for altcoin traders

Bookmap’s free Digital plan shows one symbol, and Bookmap Web listed 30 crypto symbols for 12 coins when we checked. TapeSurf lists more than 10,000 markets on its 12 venues, with more than 1,200 crypto coins, and every market has an order book heatmap.

More than 600 altcoins trade on two or more of these venues, so TapeSurf can merge their order books into one book. For the other tools in the table, we did not find a pair count we could check.

How much of the order book does each heatmap show?

On Binance spot, TapeSurf keeps resting orders from 67% below to 66% above the price, on BTC and on altcoins. On other venues the exchange feed sets the depth: OKX sends 400 levels per side. On October 23, 2026, the Bookmap Web heatmap for BTC-USDT spot (Binance, Huobi and OKX merged) showed orders from about 35,000 to about 151,000. That is wider than the 41,500 to 122,500 that TapeSurf showed on Binance BTC/USDT the same day. The difference between the two is coverage: Bookmap Web lists 12 coins, and TapeSurf lists every market on its 12 venues. The other vendors state their depth per exchange, and some state none. The table lists what each vendor states, with the source and the date we read it.

Checked on October 23, 2026. Each cell links its source.
ToolHeatmap depth
TapeSurfBinance spot: up to 67% below and 66% above the price. OKX: the 400 levels per side of its public feed
BookmapBinance: a 5,000-level snapshot, then all updates. Binance Futures: a 1,000-level snapshot, then all updates. Bybit: up to 200 levels. Kraken: up to 1,000 levels
ATASLimited depth on the built-in Crypto Data connector. Full depth needs a trading account connected through the exchange API
Sierra ChartNo market depth for Binance symbols. No historical market depth for any crypto symbol
ExochartsNot stated
QuantowerNot stated
GoChartingNo order book heatmap in its terminal

Browser-based Bookmap alternatives

TapeSurf runs in the browser with an order book heatmap for every market on its 12 venues, rendered on the GPU with WebGPU. GoCharting runs in the browser and on phones with footprint charts, without an order book heatmap. Bookmap Web listed 12 major coins, each merged across exchanges. Exocharts has a web version next to its desktop app, and ATAS Web is an early prototype.

Free Bookmap alternatives for crypto

Several tools have a free tier:

  • TapeSurf Free: 16 major coins on up to 4 spot markets each (Binance, Bitfinex, Coinbase, Kraken), one market for every other coin, 1 layout, 2,500 bars of chart history, real-time data.
  • ATAS START: 1 exchange connection, 2 instruments at once, 3 indicators per chart, real-time crypto.
  • Exocharts: On desktop, about 70 altcoin pairs on SHIB, DOGE and SOL. On the web, a 24-hour delay, or a few live pairs after sign-up.
  • Quantower: 1 connection; no cluster charts, volume profiles or VWAP.
  • GoCharting: 2 charts per tab, 1 device, real-time crypto.

Desktop Bookmap alternatives

ATAS, Quantower and Sierra Chart are desktop apps. ATAS is the closest match to Bookmap’s mix of heatmap and footprint, with C# indicators. Quantower covers several asset classes on Windows. Sierra Chart is built for futures first.

TapeSurf vs Bookmap for crypto

TapeSurf fits a crypto trader who trades altcoins as well as BTC and wants the heatmap in the browser, across many venues, with every market listed.

  • Every market on 12 crypto venues, altcoins included, each with an order book heatmap.
  • On Binance spot, a heatmap that keeps resting orders from 67% below to 66% above the price.
  • Candles from 1-second to 1-hour candles.
  • Footprint, volume profile, CVD, open interest, funding, liquidations and a liquidation heatmap from real Hyperliquid positions, on the same chart as the heatmap.
  • Order books merged across venues: spot with spot, perpetuals with perpetuals, and dated futures with futures of a close expiry.

TapeSurf fits less well in these cases:

  • You trade CME futures or stocks. TapeSurf covers crypto venues only, and Bookmap covers futures too.
  • You need custom indicators, TPO charts or backtesting. TapeSurf has none of these yet, and it has fewer analysis tools than the desktop platforms on this page.
  • You trade on 4-hour or daily candles. These timeframes are not on the TapeSurf chart yet.
  • You want to place orders from the chart. TapeSurf does not trade.
  • You need an API. TapeSurf includes it only with the Enterprise plan.
  • Your browser has no WebGPU. The TapeSurf heatmap and order book need it.

How we checked

We checked every fact on October 23, 2026.

  • Tool facts come from each vendor’s own site. The tables link the source of each price and payment method.
  • TapeSurf’s heatmap depth comes from its code and from its chart on three Binance spot markets and one OKX market. Its market coverage comes from a comparison of its market catalogue with each exchange’s public API.
  • The heatmap depth in the table comes from each vendor’s documentation.
  • We opened Bookmap Web, the GoCharting terminal and ATAS Web with free accounts. We read the Bookmap Web heatmap range the same way as on TapeSurf. ATAS Web is a browser prototype that showed only delayed preview data, so we did not measure its crypto heatmap. The ATAS desktop app has real-time crypto data on every plan.
  • We did not test the paid plans of other tools. Prices exclude VAT where the vendor says so.

Our TapeSurf checks:

Heatmap depth: on Binance spot the TapeSurf heatmap keeps resting orders from 67% below to 66% above the current price. On other venues the exchange feed sets the depth. On October 23, 2026 we checked four markets. We zoomed the TapeSurf chart out until the heatmap showed all resting orders, then read its lowest and highest rows on the price axis.

  • Binance BTC/USDT at 81,274 USDT: resting orders from about 41,500 to about 122,500 USDT.
  • Binance WIF/USDT at 0.1926 USDT: resting orders from about 0.065 to about 0.32 USDT.
  • Binance TIA/USDT at 0.5455 USDT: resting orders from about 0.18 to about 0.91 USDT.
  • OKX LAT/USDT at 0.0005606 USDT: resting orders from about 0.000484 to about 0.000637 USDT.

On BTC/USDT the bid side ends near 50% below the price, because Binance does not accept a BTC/USDT bid below half of the recent average price. For scale, the Binance REST order book snapshot returns at most 5,000 levels per side. On the same day these levels covered BTC/USDT only from 80,664 to 82,326 USDT. The BTC/USDT heatmap had at least four days of history on 1-minute candles.

The OKX LAT/USDT heatmap ends where the OKX public order book feed ends: it sends 400 levels per side.

Market coverage:

  • 10,241 markets in the TapeSurf catalogue, 8,335 of them crypto markets for 1,253 coins. 1,251 of the coins are altcoins, and 700 of these trade on two or more venues.
  • Hyperliquid perpetuals: 178 of 178 listed (exchange API)

Checked on October 23, 2026. We compared the TapeSurf market catalogue with each exchange's public listing API on the same day. The eight Bybit dated futures listed at 08:00 UTC on October 23, 2026 were in TapeSurf by 09:44 UTC the same day.

Frequently asked questions

Is Bookmap good for crypto trading?

Bookmap supports crypto exchanges. Its free Digital plan shows one symbol with real-time crypto data from Binance, Bitfinex and more than 20 other exchanges. It is a general platform for futures and crypto, so a crypto-only trader can also look at tools built for crypto venues.

Which Bookmap alternative has heatmaps for altcoins?

TapeSurf lists every market on its crypto venues, altcoins included, and each market has an order book heatmap. It lists more than 10,000 markets with more than 1,200 crypto coins, and more than 600 altcoins trade on two or more of its venues, so their order books can be merged into one.

How deep is the TapeSurf order book heatmap?

On Binance spot, the TapeSurf heatmap keeps resting orders from 67% below to 66% above the current price. On other venues the exchange feed sets the depth: OKX sends 400 levels per side. On October 23, 2026, on Binance spot, the WIF/USDT heatmap showed orders from about 0.065 to about 0.32 USDT with the price at 0.1926. On BTC/USDT the bid side ends near 50% below the price, because Binance does not accept a BTC/USDT bid below half of the recent average price.

What is the best free Bookmap alternative for crypto?

For an order book heatmap in the browser, start with TapeSurf Free. For a desktop platform, start with ATAS START. Each free plan has its own limits. TapeSurf: 16 major coins on up to 4 spot markets each (Binance, Bitfinex, Coinbase, Kraken), one market for every other coin, 1 layout, 2,500 bars of chart history, real-time data. ATAS: 1 exchange connection, 2 instruments at once, 3 indicators per chart, real-time crypto. Exocharts: On desktop, about 70 altcoin pairs on SHIB, DOGE and SOL. On the web, a 24-hour delay, or a few live pairs after sign-up. Quantower: 1 connection; no cluster charts, volume profiles or VWAP. GoCharting: 2 charts per tab, 1 device, real-time crypto. The free Bookmap Digital plan has these limits: 1 symbol at a time, real-time crypto.

Is there a Bookmap alternative that runs in the browser?

Yes. TapeSurf runs in the browser with an order book heatmap and footprint charts. GoCharting runs in the browser and on phones with footprint charts, without an order book heatmap. Bookmap has a web version, Exocharts has a web version next to its desktop app, and ATAS Web is an early prototype.

Which Bookmap alternative has custom indicators?

ATAS and Quantower use C#, Sierra Chart uses ACSIL and GoCharting uses Lipi. TapeSurf has no indicator language yet.

Which alternative is cheaper than Bookmap?

These tools start below Bookmap Global at $49/month: GoCharting Crypto & Forex Premium at $20/month, ATAS Plus at €24.95/month plus VAT, Sierra Chart Service Package 3 at $26/month, Exocharts Web at $28/month plus VAT and TapeSurf Pro at $35/month. Quantower All-in-One at $70/month costs more. We read each price on the vendor's pricing page on October 23, 2026.

Which Bookmap alternative accepts crypto payments?

TapeSurf and GoCharting accept USDC through Stripe, Quantower accepts crypto through CoinPayments, and Sierra Chart mentions Bitcoin payments in its refund policy. Bookmap, ATAS and Exocharts do not accept crypto.